Fly away

Some times when I am painting I will grab an old piece that never “became” anything, just because I need to play or try something new or maybe even just to take a break. This piece is one of those times. I think it was an owl I had started, but I liked the colors and the movement in it. A few months ago I had taken my class out side and we sat by the river and drew the birds and geese. I had been looking through my sketchbook and saw some of those drawings and thought it would be fun to make a negative space painting from the old owl canvas. So that’s what it is! A negative space painting that is very free, and looks like the motion of the geese I had captured in the sketches. Some day I will fly away, just like the geese!

swaun

9×12 mixed media collage

Leave a Reply

